Editorial

   Home >> Editorial

 

Dear visitors to our site,

We are launching a new project dedicated to Lend-Lease.

First of all, we will concentrate on Lend-Lease to the Soviet Union. However this doesn’t mean that other countries or recipients will be neglected.

We are starting with the publication of a number of historical documents, one of which addresses the Quantities of Lend-Lease Shipments. A summary of the report by the War Department during World War II, “Important Items Furnished to Foreign Governments”, will be published here, for the first time anywhere, on this site. Until now, a very limited number of researchers had access to this rare document. We are glad that we have an opportunity to publish it due to the kind assistance of Dr. Von Hardesty, a well-known historian and curator of the National Air and Space Museum, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.

We hope that this document will stimulate research activities and publications from historical community around the World.

We are planning to publish photographs of military equipment supplied via Lend-Lease. We hope that these photographs will be of interest to modelers and all those who are interested in military hardware.

We also hope that our readers will submit photographs from their family albums: many of their grandparents fought on Lend-Lease tanks, aircraft, and ships. We would welcome memoirs of veterans with their evaluation of the Lend-Lease weapons, equipment, and materiel.

We would like to create a site that will be not only an informational resource, but one that is academic in quality. We plan to publish scholarly papers, which will be peer-reviewed. We have established an editorial board to provide such reviews. At this time Dr. Von Hardesty from USA (the author of Red Phoenix) and Carl-Fredric Geust from Finland (the author of the Red Stars series of books) kindly agreed to participate in the board activities. We plan to invite other reputable historians to the editorial board. We are confident that in establishing an academic quality to the site we will be able to attract many interesting scholarly publications.

A few words about Lend-Lease to the USSR. This topic is debated on the pages of many different publications, including Internet sites. Many different opinions, often contradictory ones, are expressed. We think that it is impossible to look at the history of Lend-Lease in black and white colors: everything was much more complicated than this, and not every aspect of Lend-Lease could be measured in tons, dollars, or feet. Some of the questions requiring discussion and research include the following aspects:

  1. How Lend-Lease influenced the technological culture of the recipient countries
  2. The influence of Lend-Lease equipment on the changes in combat tactics (e.g. mass utilization of radios in aircraft)
  3. Very little is known about “reverse” Lend-Lease; specifically, shipments of rare ores and other material from the USSR to the US
  4. The influence of the combat and technical experience gained by the Red Army with Lend-Lease equipment on weapons design, manufacturing, and tactical development in the United States
  5. Legal issues of using US equipment against Finland with whom the United States had diplomatic relations

 When the number of airplanes supplied to the USSR is discussed, many publications compare this number with the total production of the aircraft in the Soviet Union. However, it should be noted that the total of almost 5000 Aircobras is comparable to the total production of 4560 Yak-3s, or 5661 Yak-7s (the list could be continued). This number, therefore, is equivalent to a large aircraft factory, one which would have been designed, constructed and supplied with manufacturing equipment and a trained workforce, as well as state-of-the art technologies.

We hope that our authors will raise these and other issues.

However, with Lend-Lease or without it, soldiers on the battlefields of WW2 decided the fate of the war, and we are grateful to them for everything they did for us.

 We would gladly appreciate it if our readers take time to submit constructive suggestions on the structure, content, and design of our site.

 Thank you and welcome! 

   Home >> Editorial

От редакции

   Home >> От редакции

 

Уважаемые посетители нашего сайта!

 

Мы открываем новый проект, посвященный Ленд-Лизу. В первую очередь, мы будем концентрировать наше внимание на Ленд-Лизе в Советский Союз. Это не значит, что другие страны-получатели будут обойдены стороной.

Как мы представляем себе развитие этого проекта?

Мы начинаем публикацию ряда исторических документов, один из которых, отчет военного ведомства США о поставках по Ленд-Лизу во время Второй Мировой Войны, будет впервые опубликован на нашем сайте. До сих пор очень узкий круг исследователей имел доступ к этому редкому документу. Мы рады, что у нас появилась возможность опубликовать его благодаря помощи известного историка, куратора авиационно-космического музея Смитсонионовского Института в Вашингтоне, DC , Др. Вона Хардести (Dr. Von Hardesty, Natioanl Air and Spce Museum, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.).

Мы надеемся, что этот документ послужит стимулом для дальнейших исследований и публикаций.

Мы будем публиковать фотографии образцов военной техники, поставлявшейся по Ленд-Лизу. Надеемся, эти фотографии будут представлять интерес для моделистов и всех, интересующихся военной техникой. Мы надеемся, что наши читатели предоставят нам фотографии из семейных альбомов: ведь многие их деды воевали на технике Ленд-Лиза. Мы были бы рады опубликовать воспоминания ветеранов с их оценкой поставлявшихся оружия, материалов, продуктов.

Мы хотим создать сайт, который будет не просто информационным ресурсом, но будет академическим по своему качеству. Мы планируем публиковать аналитические статьи, которые будут рецензироваться членами редакционного совета. В этот совет войдут известные историки, как из России, так и США и других стран. В настоящее время Др. Вон Хардести (автор «Красного Феникса») и Карл-Фредрик Геуст (Carl-Fredrik Geust) (автор известной серии Red Stars) любезно согласились быть членами редакционного совета. Мы планируем пригласить в совет других известных историков. Мы уверены, что пойдя по этому пути, мы сможем привлечь на сайт много интересных научно-исторических публикаций.

 

Несколько слов о Ленд-Лизе в СССР. Эта тема горячо обсуждается в последнее время на страницах многих изданий, в том числе доступных в сети. Высказываются различные, в том числе и противоположные точки зрения. Нам кажется, что нельзя подходить к этому вопросу исходя из черно-белого восприятия: все было гораздо сложнее, не все можно измерить тоннами, долларами или штуками.

Некоторые из вопросов, требующие дискуссий и изучения, включают в себя следующие аспекты:

1. Как повлиял Ленд-Лиз на технологическую культуру в массовом масштабе (не только на ученых и конструкторов, но и на инженеров, техников и механиков)

2. Влияние Ленд-Лиза на изменения в тактике боевых действий (массовое использование радиостанций на самолетах, например)

3. Очень мало известно об "обратном Ленд-Лизе", в частности, о поставках в США из СССР редких металлов и прочих материалов, а ведь они были!

4. Влияние опыта эксплуатации и боевого применения военной техники, поставленной по Ленд-Лизу на усовершенствования конструкций и развитие тактических приемов в странах-отправителях.

 

Кроме того, когда говорят о числе поставленных самолетов, всегда считают их процентное соотношение к самолетам, произведенным в СССР. Однако, не стоит забывать, что около 5000 Аэрокобр вполне сопоставимы по количеству с 4560 Як-3 или 5661 Як-7 (список можно продолжить). А ведь это эквивалентно целому весьма крупному авиазаводу, который надо было бы построить, оснастить современным технологическим оборудованием, укомплектовать квалифицированными кадрами, освоить современные технологии.

Думается, что авторы статей поднимут эти и другие вопросы.

 

Мы будем благодарны нашим читателям за конструктивные замечания и предложения по структуре, содержанию и оформлению проекта.

 

Еще раз, добро пожаловать!

 

   Home >> От редакции